Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Mounting EVA grip
Rod Building > General Rod Building > Grips and Reel Seats
Gnossos
I made a fly rod for my granddaughter's 12th birthday, but her dad said she prefers spin fishing, so I decided to make her a spinning rod. Then I thought, what the heck, I'll make all the grandkids spinning rods. I've never done eva grips before so I reviewed things here on the site and read the section in Tom's book. Being reassured that EVA stretches, I bought 1/4" ID grips for blanks with 3/8" butt diameters. I found the spot on the blank where the grip starts to pinch, about 3 1/2 feet from the butt, applied 30 minute epoxy just above this area, brought the grip down, squiggled it around to coat the inside with epoxy and slid it toward the butt. About a foot. Using a block of wood on the floor and a heroic effort, I moved it down, about 8". Something told me I wasn't going to get it the 20" or so farther to the butt. Using my wood vise, I was able to get it off, cleaned up the blank with DNA and got most of the epoxy off with just a little paint.

I can ream the grip and get it to fit, though it won't be fun with hardened epoxy in there. What did I do wrong? Shouldn't this have worked? I fancied up the grip with a couple of colored foam rings, but cut the hole in them bigger than the ID of the grip in case they wouldn't stretch. Could that be the problem?

Thanks for your help.

Gnossos
Goduster
Very possibly the glue actualy pooled at the larger diameter rings, not letting it totally lubricate the inside of the grip. As far as inlarging it just run a 5/16 drill bit thru it as long as the front part of the blank where it will seat, is not smaller than the 5/16 bore.