Photo

Eccentric turned reel seat inserts

17 replies to this topic

#1 Boris L

Boris L
  • Members
  • 143 posts

Posted 04 January 2010 - 07:37 AM

I've just come across a post on the list serve that asked how to turn eccentric real seat inserts. I'm no expert but I have done a small batch using Australian desert timber burls. This is still a learning process for me but I thought I'd post what I've learned so far. This is the eccentric/offset fixture fitting used for a 3 jaw chuck. See Gary Dabrowski's drawings

http://brooksiderod....eatworkshop.pdf

This fixture it able to turn fillers with an OD of .660 with an offset of .100. The depth of the finished eccentric cut is .100 which allows a standard reel foot and a sliding band to fit comfortably.

Here it is mounted in the chuck with the centric turned and bored wood with some eccentric cutting visible. This first piece was done without the live centre tailstock attachment.

You can see the halo surrounding the timber as it turns off centre. This means very light cuts with a very sharp with a tool rounded for the arch in the cut.

This is the only successful seat I was able to make without using the live centre in the tailstock.

The rest ended up like this. The flex in the timber as it turned off centre was enough to bite into the tool, grab and break the timber.