Photo

reel seat size for my blank... first build

7 replies to this topic

#1 WhataBasshole!

WhataBasshole!
  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 28 October 2013 - 09:37 PM

i got a blank that i would like to build and im in the gathering parts phase. this is my first build and im making a st criox 7' 2pc med action with a fast tip for a spinning reel. of course as soon as i sit down to write the exact model escapes me (2sc70mf2 i believe) but it'll basically be for 1/4-5/8 oz and im trying to find an appropiate size reel seat. i see a few different sizes but i dont know which will work. will a #16 or an 18 be too small or large? i dont have the specific reel in mind yet but i do know my aim is bass fishing along with northern pike and crappie. pretty much inland lake fishing for lower penninsula michigan.

#2 roadking

roadking
  • Members
  • 2,858 posts

Posted 29 October 2013 - 09:34 AM

Don't build a lot of conventional rods but a size 16 should be the correct size. I mostly wanted to chime in about the reel foot size. Some brands are larger than others. I had to switch out a 16 to an 18 on my wifes steelhead rod because the "color" reel she wanted would not fit. Don't want to name names but watch the Pfl****s.

Mike

#3 LeMoutch

LeMoutch
  • Members
  • 111 posts

Posted 29 October 2013 - 09:43 AM

in that power range, you'll probably be using a 2500 reel, and most is not all will go perfectly with a 16 seat.
actually, 16/17/18 is more a question of fitting your hand. pick the diameter you're more comfortable with

If I'm not going to catch anything, then I'd rather not catch anything on flies.

http://www.lemouching.com
http://g0nefishin9.wordpress.com/

#4 Goduster

Goduster
  • Super Moderators
  • 4,945 posts

Posted 29 October 2013 - 09:57 AM

On that blank I would be using a 16

Ron Weber
Southwest Custom Rods

www.southwestcustomrods.com

Your Lemke reel seat dealer
http://www.southwest...l-seat-hardware

Authorized  Snake Brand guide dealer