Photo

Bubble-Less Epoxy

14 replies to this topic

#1 gmorin71

gmorin71
  • Members
  • 28 posts

Posted 29 July 2017 - 06:55 AM

I haven't been building rods for decades, but at this point I have built several and feel as though I have gotten pretty good at it. The one area that is still a crapshoot is the epoxy. I feel like every time theres at least a couple of spots where there's an air bubble and it pains me to look at it.

anyone have any tips on mixing bubble-less epoxy? I recently watched a video where it was mixed in a ziploc back and pushed with a credit card, or any straight edge...anyone ever try that?

any tips would be appreciated.

#2 Carl Z

Carl Z
  • Members
  • 781 posts

Posted 29 July 2017 - 09:02 AM

I feel like every time theres at least a couple of spots where there's an air bubble and it pains me to look at it.

any tips would be appreciated.

Don't look at it so closely. :)

I have been building rods for well over 10 years and epoxy is still a pain.  If you figure it out, stay with what works.

Air bubbles:

• conventional wisdom is don't get them in the epoxy in the first place.  Stir slowly but thoroughly and take your time.  Some people us an epoxy mixer which rotates the cup and you put a ball bearing in the cup to promote the mixing.
  • Heat the epoxy before measuring it.  This will keep the epoxy more fluid and the bubbles will escape more.
  • Pour the mixture out onto a flat surface before using (aluminum foil)  to let the bubbles pop.
  • If the epoxy is getting thick, stop and mix up a new batch
  • Put it on thin and use multiple coats.
  • Do as I say, not as I do.  

I have had some good finishes come out, but it really is attention to detail and patience.  Covering signature areas really does me in. 

Good luck and let us know what works for you.

#3 jsid6g

jsid6g
  • Members
  • 93 posts

Posted 29 July 2017 - 11:32 AM