Photo

Feather inlay for reel seat

8 replies to this topic

#1 Doc Mike

Doc Mike
  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 19 January 2017 - 02:13 AM

I will be making a reel seat of Bocote.  I would prefer to finish it with Tru-Oil.  Would it be possible to add a feather inlay opposite the reel foot and cover it with epoxy?  Are these materials compatible?  Opinions would be appreciated.  Thanks Guys.

#2 PENZZZ

PENZZZ
  • Members
  • 389 posts

Posted 19 January 2017 - 07:02 PM

Mike, I have no experience with mounting feathers on wood reel seat inserts, only on rod sections. So can't help you there. Regarding use of oil based gunstock finishes on Bocote, I have experience with that (though I use Pro Custom Oil which is similar to Tru-Oil). Bocote is an oily wood. PCO and Tru-Oil have oil in them. When you apply oil based finishes onto oily woods, the finish encounters the oil in the wood, somewhat flooding the gunstock finish with added oil. This creates an oil imbalance in the finish, making it difficult for the finish to harden as designed by the manufacturer. The result is a finish coat that remains tacky instead of hardening. You can work around this problem, but I can't recommend a workaround that doesn't harm your feather inlay and epoxy coating.

#3 Doc Mike

Doc Mike
  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 20 January 2017 - 01:20 PM

I was aware of the oil finish problems.  I just wonder if the oil will have an effect of the epoxy.  Thanks Penzzz

#4 Goduster

Goduster
  • Super Moderators
  • 4,945 posts

Posted 20 January 2017 - 03:08 PM

Usually any type of oil will cause issues with the epoxy. 

Ron Weber
Southwest Custom Rods

www.southwestcustomrods.com

Your Lemke reel seat dealer
http://www.southwest...l-seat-hardware

Authorized  Snake Brand guide dealer

#5 phg

phg
  • Members
  • 1,613 posts

Posted 20 January 2017 - 05:26 PM