Photo

9wt 9' fly rod suggestions (newby)

16 replies to this topic

#1 crane_andrew

crane_andrew
  • Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 25 April 2016 - 11:10 PM

Hello everyone I am very excviuted ti be apart of the forum and gain knowledge from you all. I am currently a student at corpus Christi A&M and my buddies have really got me into surf fishing and I am very interested in making my own rods. I plan on purchasing the 9/10wt redington behemoth reel and was wanting a 9' 9wt for the reel, we have caught some jack crevalles on a fly rod and those thing fight like small black tip sharks. I would really like to keep the cost no more than 100$ due to being a college kid. I ran across some graphite and fiber glass blanks on ebay by 'olde fly rods' for very cheap, figured I would throw it out there for yall to look at. http://www.ebay.com/... blank&_sacat=0

Thanks for all the help guys! (keep in mind college budget, very tight.)

#2 ACowley

ACowley
  • Members
  • 183 posts

Posted 26 April 2016 - 10:04 AM

I have not used his blanks, but I have ordered other supplies from him and they've been good. I think there are a couple guys on here that have built on his blanks and seemed to like them. His website is http://yeoldeenglishflyshop.com/ Might have some more options for you there, and you might be able to get your other supplies as well.

#3 crane_andrew

crane_andrew
  • Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 26 April 2016 - 10:10 AM

thanks for such a quick reply, but good to know at least some of his products already have a good reputation that makes me feel much more comfortable. Some friends working at a tackle shop might be able to get me a blank the shops actually use so I may end up going that route. Thanks again for the reply I'm very excited to make my first rod

#4 FisherQueen

FisherQueen
  • Members
  • 114 posts

Posted 26 April 2016 - 10:24 AM