Photo

Turning reel seats wood types ?

38 replies to this topic

#1 Dave-G.

Dave-G.
  • Members
  • 247 posts

Posted 07 April 2015 - 08:03 AM

So here is the deal. I've built hand made wall clock cases for years ( nice clocks, regulators and such, not craft fair stuff), never had a lathe to do spindles, finials etc. and was stuck with store bought brass items or someones stock for wood items that were hard to match my project wood with..  Now I have a lathe and my interest turns immediately to reel seats. I have in stock, cherry, maple, oak, pine. I never see that anyone turns cherry seats, is there a reason ? 

I'm going to be a complete newb to turning anything for a while and intend to start with a handle for a file I own that never had a handle, but that's another topic. I have no burls.

#2 Goduster

Goduster
  • Super Moderators
  • 4,945 posts

Posted 07 April 2015 - 08:23 AM

I keep and sell both Cherry and Cherry burl in stock, works great. Although all of mine are stabilized

Ron Weber
Southwest Custom Rods

www.southwestcustomrods.com

Your Lemke reel seat dealer
http://www.southwest...l-seat-hardware

Authorized  Snake Brand guide dealer

#3 John T.

John T.
  • Members
  • 5,688 posts

Posted 07 April 2015 - 08:32 AM

Pine is going to be difficult to turn as it is a soft wood.  Give it a try and make sure, no matter what wood, keep your tools sharp.

John T.

Marriage is like a deck of cards- in the beginning, all you need is two hearts and a diamond.  In the end, you wish you had a club and a spade.

#4 Greg LaPolla

Greg LaPolla
  • Members
  • 672 posts

Posted 07 April 2015 - 08:32 AM

Dave-G,

I make most of my reel seats from burl.  I also have a ton of Cherry, Cocobola and Maple, however a lot of factory rods use these types of wood because they are much cheaper than burl.  

I would suggest you check out reelseats.com.  You will be amazed, and the quality of his burl is unmatched. 

#5 Dave-G.

Dave-G.
  • Members
  • 247 posts