Photo

Hello from Minnesota

4 replies to this topic

#1 Jaredj

Jaredj
  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 12 July 2016 - 09:37 AM

Hello everyone. I am new to all of this and just wanted to introduce myself. I live in SE MN and have been looking at getting into wrapping rods for years. I finally decided to just pull the trigger as a way to help me quit smoking. I am sure I am not going to be asking anything new so I apologize if the answer is already out there and I asked again. 

Where is the best way to but a few blanks at a time for cheap? I don't want to drop a ton when I am just learning. 

Is there any types of thread I should be avoiding? I saw a youtube video that said nylon frays bad. 

Thank everyone in advance for any and every tip you are able to share. If I get good enough at this I would like to give the rods I wrap as gifts to family and friends. 

Jared 

#2 John T.

John T.
  • Members
  • 5,686 posts

Posted 12 July 2016 - 12:17 PM

Welcome to the forum.  I wouldn't buy a bunch of blanks to start until you are sure that you are going to continue building rods.  Best way is to buy a kit- contact Bingham Enterprises, one of the forum sponsors.  Karen will help you get started.  Great folks to work with on rods and building components.

John T.

Marriage is like a deck of cards- in the beginning, all you need is two hearts and a diamond.  In the end, you wish you had a club and a spade.

#3 Jay McKnight

Jay McKnight
  • Members
  • 49 posts

Posted 12 July 2016 - 03:46 PM

Welcome to the site Jaredj. I kicked the habit myself January 3rd, 2015, half way through a Marlboro light, i put it out, and said I'm done. Have not and will not touched one since. Personally I'd buy the blank/materials for one rod at a time, the shipping isn't that tough on a guy who's saving $60-$70 bucks a week on the cigarettes he's not buying. I use nylon thread, and I'll bet 90% of the rest of the guys on here use it as well, with no fraying issues.

#4 Bigdadyrods