correct me if I wrong - fly to spin

9 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_Adam Obiegalko_*

Guest_Adam Obiegalko_*
  • Guests

Posted 12 November 2011 - 04:52 PM

I was asked by friend of mine for building a bamboo spin rod. The rod is supposed to be fast action and changing to a kind of parabolic under a good, fat fish. Beside, 7'6'' long and should cast lures upto 3/4 oz.

There is not to many tapers for spin rod available, so I consider building it on a fly blank.

After my research I have choosen (and fix a bit by hexrod) those tapers:

So I have come to my question to you mates,
Will it kind of rod I desribe above?
Have you got any alternative idea for such blank?

Thanks in advance,

Adam

#2 rsa

rsa
  • Members
  • 388 posts

Posted 13 November 2011 - 12:58 AM

Hey Adam,

I never made a bamboo spinning rod, have only assembled a few graphite rods.. I think that for casting lures weighting 3/4oz the taper you suggested is to light! As I said I have no experience with bamboo/spin, so my opinion is not to be taken as a "saint"..! But in the book written by a German rodmaker Rolf Baginski there are three spin tapers, 6'6'', 7'6'' and 8', shorter rods for casting 0.2 to 0.6oz lure and the eight footer 0.4 to 0.6oz. All three have tips bigger than your taper, on the 8' is 0.130... I think you have to "hexrod" the taper modifying the line weight to a heavier, maybe to #10 or #12. And the line fished to 70'.. The resultant taper should be over 0.13'' at the tip, 0.270 / 0.300'' in the middle and 0.350 / 0.400 under the grip...

r wink.gif

#3 kbproctor

kbproctor
  • Super Moderators
  • 3,561 posts

Posted 13 November 2011 - 10:47 AM

A good "Rule of Thumb" but by no means hard and fast, is to break down the desired lure weight to 16ths. The number of 16ths is roughly equivalent to the line number on a fly blank. 3/4 oz = 12/16 = #12 line blank.
Kevin

Colorado Custom Fly Rods, Ltd.

If your parents never had kids, chances are you won't either....

#4 John T.

John T.